Why removing the nobody account is not a good idea

From Wiki-UX.info
Jump to: navigation, search


Abstract[edit]

Novice HP-UX may be temped with removing the nobody user account to "increase" system security. They may use a the following command to accomplish it is:

# userdel -r nobody
  • Note: Doing this will completetly destroy the system, because is one of many HP-UX built-in that has / as their home directory and using of the -r will recursevely delete everything in the system, starting from root path.

So, please put careful consideration when removing system default account without previously evaluating the overall impact of those actions.

Authors[edit]

Editor[edit]